Remember?

Your eyes have seen what the LORD did. Deuteronomy 4:3

“Only take care, and keep your soul diligently, lest you forget the things that your eyes have seen, and lest they depart from your heart all the days of your life. Make them known to your children and your children’s children. Deuteronomy 4:9

Remember that you were a slave in the land of Egypt, and that the LORD your God brought you out of there with a mighty hand and an outstretched arm. Deuteronomy 5:15

Be careful not to forget the LORD who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery. 6:12 Deuteronomy, chapters 4, 5 and 6 BSB

“Remember what your eyes have seen the Lord do.”  In reading through this Old Testament book, those words grabbed my attention. “Remember what your eyes have seen.” Reading further, I noticed that theme repeated several times. In context we’re reading about the ancient Israelites, but as always, we must apply His Word to our own lives as well. So, I asked myself; “What have my eyes seen the Lord do, what was my “land of Egypt” that required deliverance and am I remembering?” The question caused my thoughts to tumble back in time to a church service, some 43 years ago.

Pushing the yellow polka-dot stroller as I walked along High Street in the Short North area of Columbus, I arrived at the store-front church that was adorned with a large bygone-era lighted cross. The old country-style church embedded in an ultra-urban setting, was affectionately called, Old Time Religion Hall. Once inside, I pushed the stroller, and my now awake young son, down the narrow hardwood-floor aisle, lined on both sides with bare wooden pews. Also, from a bygone era. Adjusting the stroller to fit snuggly beside me, I slipped into the pew and exhaled even as I breathed in a still unfamiliar, but an amazing and soul-deep peace. His peace.

Rising to my feet with the rest of the small, mostly elderly congregation, we sang songs like Amazing Grace, Peace in the Valley, and Old Rugged Cross. Songs that were unfamiliar to me, but with words that clearly articulated what had happened in my life just a year earlier. So new to this “new” life, I was stunned that someone had penned the words of my own heart, not yet realizing that millions had gone before me as new creations in Christ.

I was also, utterly unconcerned at being the lone teenager in the gray-haired crowd, or who might hear my very off-key singing. Loudly and with great enthusiasm, I belted out the words, “Amazing grace! How sweet the sound, that saved a wretch like me! I once was lost, but now am found; Was blind, but now I see.”   Tears were a common occurrence as I took in the reality of the miraculous deliverance from a life of rebellion, heartache, and anything but peace. A gift that Jesus Christ had purchased for me with His Blood. So undeserved.

Remembering what my eyes have seen … not to necessarily remove my difficulties, but to walk me through them. And through them He has walked me! Not over, or around, but through.

What do you need to call to mind, what can you purposefully remember? What has the Lord done that your eyes have seen? Remember … thank Him, and then share it!

Precious Lord and Savior, though words can never adequately express our profound gratitude, we simply bow in worship and say, “Thank You.” We love You, Lord. Be gloried in and through our lives. In Jesus’ name, Amen

Written by Becky White for my Lord Jesus.

My Story

Published by devotionsfordifficultdays

Becky White is a contributing author to Whispers of Wisdom for Single Mom's and Every Good and Perfect Gift, both Published by Barbour Publishing. She contributed to The Complete Guide to Christian Quotations, also by Barbour. She has written devotions for Quiet Hour magazine of the David C. Cook Publishing Company along with daily devotions titled Daily Bread Crumbs for an internet radio program. Her first published work was a poem in a 2007 edition of the BGEA Decision magazine. In addition, Becky has self-published an auto biography titled Come Forth as Gold and a booklet titled Adversity. Becky and her husband attend Rock City Church and serve together at Columbus Dream Center as well as writing a weekly devotion for her blog, Devotions for Difficult Days. The Whites have a family of seven grown children and eight grandchildren and make their home in Columbus, Ohio.

2 thoughts on “Remember?

Leave a comment