What’s the Goal?

Everyone who is called by my name, whom I created for my glory, whom I formed and made.

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.

Isaiah 43:7 ESV 1,  Corinthians 10:31

While serving and chatting with friends, my raspy, and newly baritone voice, gave evidence to the cold I’d been fighting all week. Amidst the, “I’ll pray for you” and, “Oh, you sound awful,” came something along these lines. “I pray that stuff away, it can’t come on me.” The words were pregnant with the implied idea that sicknesses (or any “difficult” thing) are always something that we ought to/should be able to pray away.

The poor guy had no idea what puddle he’d just stepped into.

Thus began my short, but penetrating theological dive into the value of life’s thorns and struggles. My main point to him was this; our life is for one purpose. To bring Him glory. Sometimes, that is best achieved through a miraculous healing or intervention, but much more often, God’s glory is manifested in how He walks us through life’s inevitable challenges. As those around us see His peace in the midst of our pain, His comfort as we grieve, or His strength as we handle years-long trials … He receives glory and we are provided with a unique opportunity to testify of His faithfulness, not to always remove our difficulties, but to walk us through them. And that speaks volumes to a hurting world.

I don’t say this lightly, because I know from experience that trials can be severe. And painful. And gut wrenching. Maybe you do too. Much more so than fighting my trivial cold. But the goal is always, the same – His glory. Not a particular outcome, not our happiness or even the happiness of someone we love. Whatever it takes, with whatever instrument He chooses, may His glory be displayed in our lives.

True, this doesn’t mean we shouldn’t pray or ask for specific outcomes, but it does mean that the specific-outcome-request, should end with, “Whatever will bring You the most glory, Lord. That’s my goal, to honor You.”

Let’s be challenged to look our trials full in the face, and ask ourselves, “Am I allowing God to use this circumstance for His glory or am I focused solely on praying my way out of it?” And in the process, getting angry, or feeling neglected, or impatient as weeks drag into months or years? Hey, no judgement call here, I’ve been there a time or two or ten. But we must not allow ourselves to camp there. We lay our request in His sovereign and all-knowing hands and trust that He will work it all out for our good and His glory. Even death. Even a prison sentence. Even betrayal. Even dashed expectations. And yes, even the sniffles.

“I know that the experiences of our lives, when we let God use them, become the mysterious and perfect preparation for the work He will give us to do.”

Corrie Ten Boom

Father God, I am so very thankful, so very grateful for Your mercy and grace. Though I definitely prefer a problem-free life, it’s an honor for the challenges swirling around me, to be used to bring glory to Your name. Thank You precious Lord. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

*For in-depth study on this topic, check out 1 Peter 3 and 4 and James 1. As well as the real-life Biblical stories of Job, and most importantly, of our Lord Himself. For a modern-day example, investigate the true story of Pastor Andrew Brunson.

Written by Becky White for the Lord Jesus

Published by devotionsfordifficultdays

Becky White is a contributing author to Whispers of Wisdom for Single Mom's and Every Good and Perfect Gift, both Published by Barbour Publishing. She contributed to The Complete Guide to Christian Quotations, also by Barbour. She has written devotions for Quiet Hour magazine of the David C. Cook Publishing Company along with daily devotions titled Daily Bread Crumbs for an internet radio program. Her first published work was a poem in a 2007 edition of the BGEA Decision magazine. In addition, Becky has self-published an auto biography titled Come Forth as Gold and a booklet titled Adversity. Becky and her husband attend Rock City Church and serve together at Columbus Dream Center as well as writing a weekly devotion for her blog, Devotions for Difficult Days. The Whites have a family of seven grown children and eight grandchildren and make their home in Columbus, Ohio.

3 thoughts on “What’s the Goal?

Leave a comment