OG Devos – “Pain”

Recently, while “cleaning up” old files that were saved on my computer, I came across the original 20 year-old manuscript of Devotions For Difficult Days. As I’ve read through the OG devos, the memories of His faithfulness in the midst of pain, come rushing back to my heart. I so clearly see the grace and mercy of God on my life and His ability to walk us through trials. Not necessarily removing the painful events, but giving us His wisdom and grace to walk through them. It’s also a real-life example of Romans 8:28 and Ephesians 1:11 which says in part, He is “working all things according to the counsel of His will.” And His promise to bring good from all we face – If we put our lives in His hands.

I have decided to share a few of these OG devos from years past, in their original form for the most part. You may notice a few grammar issues or strange sentence structure. Please  try to look past that, and land on the lesson He was teaching me at the time, and maybe even use it to remind/or teach you as well.

For His glory,

Becky White

Pain

As a father pities his children so the Lord takes pity on those who fear Him.

He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him up for us all, how will He not also with Him freely give us all things?

We love Him because He first loved us.

Psalm 103:13      Romans 8:32   1 John 4:19 

While watching my youngest son prepare for dental surgery, I was filled with a jumble of emotions. Apprehension, anxiety, and the longing to protect. He balked at the idea of anesthesia, even crying and trying to pull off the gas mask. He cried out “I can’t breathe” and dug his finger nails into my arm. I assured him “I would never allow anyone to hurt you, or put something on you that would keep you from breathing.” I’m not so sure he believed me. After all, it was me who was holding his arms down. I could have stopped the whole torturous affair with just one word but I didn’t. Not only did I not stop the process, I planned it, worked out all the details and set his “trial” into motion. Some mom I am.

I wanted desperately to say “Stop! change my mind.” And then hold him. Hug him. Love on him. But – I knew the reason for allowing him such discomfort. I understood that in the end, he would be glad he’d endured such difficulty. But right now…in the middle of the pain and fearful expectation, he couldn’t see that. Heck, I could barely see it.

I wonder if that’s not what happens to us when God allows difficulty into our lives. Does He hold our hand and allow us to dig our nails in while crying “I can’t take this! Stop the pain.” All the  while knowing that it will be for our benefit in the long run. Do His eyes figuratively well with tears as we wiggle to get away from the heat, wanting to protect us yet knowing that it must be done? Knowing we will be glad for having endured it in the end? I wonder.

I hope my son will come to understand how much I love him and that he can trust in that love. Trust me to make choices in his long-term best interest, even when that means a season of pain, even when he cannot understand.

And we can trust in the Father’s love for us, even when we don’t understand the “why” of it all.

Father, Thank You for being willing to be misunderstood. And for loving me even as I try to wrestle control from You, as if I know better than You. Help me trust You. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Written by Becky White for the Lord Jesus

Published by devotionsfordifficultdays

Becky White is a contributing author to Whispers of Wisdom for Single Mom's and Every Good and Perfect Gift, both Published by Barbour Publishing. She contributed to The Complete Guide to Christian Quotations, also by Barbour. She has written devotions for Quiet Hour magazine of the David C. Cook Publishing Company along with daily devotions titled Daily Bread Crumbs for an internet radio program. Her first published work was a poem in a 2007 edition of the BGEA Decision magazine. In addition, Becky has self-published an auto biography titled Come Forth as Gold and a booklet titled Adversity. Becky and her husband attend Rock City Church and serve together at Columbus Dream Center as well as writing a weekly devotion for her blog, Devotions for Difficult Days. The Whites have a family of seven grown children and eight grandchildren and make their home in Columbus, Ohio.

3 thoughts on “OG Devos – “Pain”

  1. Ah Becky what wonderful way to acknowledge the need for us to turn everything over to the Lord. Looking forward to reading more. God bless you and thank you for sharing. Robin

    Like

Leave a comment